Posted by: Daniel Reed | February 21, 2012

Newcastle Work Experience

In a final attempt to make my CV look a little more colourful, I grabbed the opportunity of a Newcastle Work Experience placement with both hands and took a position as a SEO intern. What is SEO? Search Engine Optimisation; where I have 100 hours to generate a greater online presence for Exclusive Ltd who are a local recruitment and HR consultancy company near Newcastle Airport (a trek, I know!). A daunting 9-5 job but a fantastic experience to run my own online media project and earn some more than useful experience with a recruiting firm. Although I was already a bit of a techno-geek (even though I study History), this internship gives me a great chance to lead my own project team and watch the results grown, which online grow pretty quickly!

And what about Human Resources? I had no clue about what ‘HR’ was but after a week or two I found just how useful a local recruiting firm can be in illuminating the job market and ultimately finding the best sector for graduates to use their newly found skills.

The NWE application is really easy. I applied on-line, was lucky enough out get a call for an interview and boom…got my own desk! Very easy and only a few bits of paper to sign, one of which is the all important oracle of the ‘Time Sheet’! Scribble down the hours.

And at the end of this opportunity is a £600 bursary to say “Cheers guys…that was swell!” which, as my Santander credit card will tell you, is a kind and well needed present!

But that’s enough from me…back to work. If you have even the slightest interest in a sector of industry, check out the NWE website and see what you can do. I have never done anything like this before but I still got the position so take a peek and see what’s up for grabs!

Daniel Reed

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers

