Posted by: brad3091 | November 13, 2009

Never underestimate family.

Well, here’s my first post to get the proverbial ball rolling.  One of my three jobs is working one day a week in a clothes shop owned by my aunt’s ex-boyfriend.  The hours are casual; I get to work a few hours here and there whenever I’m free, the shop’s never too busy and it’s pretty much a way to get easy money that fits in nicely around my MA.

Of course, if it hadn’t been for my aunt suggesting that I went to see if any extra help was needed at the shop, I never would have got the job.  Moral of the story?  It’s worth asking around friends and family to see if they know of any work going or have any potential connections.  This is especially true of little part time things to fit in around studying – flyering, shop watching etc generally rely more on word of mouth than advertised vacancies.

However, DON’T do something stupid like getting your dad to  jeopardise his career to get you a job, only for you to get caught watching Peep Show or making out with Janet from advertising while a queue of customers is  waiting to be served [if there are no customers waiting, then yeah…go for it].  Just because you’ve gotten the job through a friend or family members doesn’t mean you should take it any less seriously, or that you won’t get fired for slacking off!

On a personal note, I’m growing a moustache and I’m still trying to decide if it makes me look like Tom Selleck or just like a Mexican gang member.

Stu

Leave a Reply

Categories

