Posted by: emmacraig | February 22, 2010

Whistle while you work..

Part time work is normally pretty rubbish. You can feel as though you are left with the choice between bar work or waitressing. Let’s face it, they aren’t the most exciting or interesting jobs are they? I once upon a time worked as a sales assistant in a store. I’m one of those weird people who genuinely love to go to work but even so it could be a bit bland and normal. You may recall me saying earlier that I never really was one for going along with the crowd and doing what others might associate with being normal…
This takes me nicely on to my next point. There are other jobs out there! They’re a bit harder to find and might require a bit more elbow grease but I think it’s something genuinely worth doing. In Uni I’ve worked as crowd control (which is hilarious as I’m lovely and also very non-scary) and also my particular favourite, screening people for Chlamydia! That’s right I’m one of those lovely people who may have knocked on your door or tried to talk you into taking a test at Uni. In fact you may have spotted me at the evolution festival sporting some rather bad sunburn and a gritty determination to protect the county from its most prevalent STD! Ok so handling a bunch of strangers pee isn’t the most glamorous career option but it’s interesting. I don’t know who I’m going to meet next and as you can imagine it’s a talking point. I actually get up in the morning and look forward to going into work because I’m not going to be spending my shift doing something I hate. I’m going to spend it doing something I’m passionate about.
Now I know this isn’t the point of the blog but I feel this is a worthwhile thing (well in terms of fixing my car it is). I’d like you all to go and check out this link here and consider giving me a hand.
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=449577000112&ref=ts
If nothing else then give the info section a quick read and have a think about how easily spread it is. Condoms go a long way kids but as someone once said to me, if you’re old enough to be having sex then you’re old enough to be getting tested!

(I’d also like to point out that if you want more info or want to take a test but for some reason don’t fancy helping me keep my transport then head over to http://checkyourbits.org/)

Leave a Reply

Categories

