Posted by: brad3091 | March 16, 2010

Time ticks away…

The Easter holidays are coming!

Although I will be using some of the time to write a film noir essay (though writing about Sin City hardly feels like work…) I’m glad there’s a lull coming up – as anyone who’s had the misfortune to be around me lately will tell you, I’ve had a manic few weeks.  Interviews, applications, funding deadlines, multiple jobs and the MA are just a few of the things that have been trying to get in the way of my precious television time.  However, a recent talk with a journalist from The Times made me realise I can’t afford to switch off altogether – although it’s not somewhere I particularly want to work, the journalist in question told me that the minimum wait list for work experience at the paper is 6 months…and in 6 months I’ll be finished my MA.  Although I said above that working there isn’t something I really want to do, I’m sure that other waitlists are just as long and that deadlines for grad jobs are passing at this very moment.

What does all of this mean?  It means that if you’re in your final year, you really don’t have the luxury of watching all four season of The OC instead of getting started on the job hunt (although I myself AM working my way through the box sets at good pace).  If you don’t, there’s a risk that all the graduate jobs you really want will be gone and you’ll have to effectively waste a year waiting for opportunities to come around again.  And you don’t want that…I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but this is a message that final year students (especially me; I’m hoping that writing this post will have a cathartic effect and make me get my act together…) must heed!

All the joy that I felt in my heart at the opening sentence of this post is now gone 😦

Responses

  1. I hate you ¬_¬
    I have so much to catch up on, even getting work experience at the sunday sun is proving to be difficult! The dissertation effectively took over my life for a term.

  2. For me, it’s always been about selling myself very hard – how can you stretch something as far as possible but it still be true?

    In the past I’ve spun writing a paid blog as journalism experience, e-marketing skills acquisition and developing my knowledge of tourism and local events – surely you can cash in on this blog as volunteering, working alongside one of the top careers services in the country, writing experience and time management 🙂

    In an effort to avoid dissertation becoming too all consuming I’m currently getting very ahead with all the other essays I have – I’ve already finished an essay not due for a month, and halfway through writing one not ’til due May. Jeez, smug much…? I’ll shut up now.

  3. Oh I will. I’ve been writing for the courier, running two societies and working up to two jobs at a time over the course of uni as well! I have CV experience aplenty. Some days it just doesn’t feel like I have time to do everything I need to do though!


Leave a Reply

Categories

