Posted by: brad3091 | March 25, 2010

To blog or not to blog?

Once upon a time, the ‘blogosphere’ wasn’t cool – I often used to wonder why people who sat in front of a computer 24/7 would think that people would be interested in reading about their non-lives.  Now, however, Ashton Kutcher has almost 5 million followers on Twitter and PerezHilton.com is the home page of every gossip monger from here to Cancun.  In the immortal words of Perez, “I started blogging because it seemed easy.”

And, of course, it is easy; any monkey can write a blog (probably) and millions of people around the world do.  So why bother; isn’t the market saturated?  Well, maybe, but blogging for Careering Ahead last year ended up landing me a job, and here’s how…

I saw an advert for a collaborative project run by Nissan, Vice Magazine and The Guardian seeking bloggers to write about events in their city.  Sure, I thought, I can do that.  So I sent in an application, did the phone interview, yadda yadda, and I received news that I had the job.  Never one to read the fine print (unless it’s to do with the bank or other people who are probably trying to take my money), I hadn’t realised that I would be getting a Nissan Qashqai (which is a pretty cool car incidentally, and you can take that as truth because they’re not even paying me now…) to use for three months and £500.

Of course, being the massive blagger that I am, I also used my (dubious) press status to swing quite a few free guestlist places on nights out, tickets to the theatre and a few cheap meals.  The credentials I earned also resulted in me undertaking a freelance photography project for Sony Ericsson which resulted in me basically doing whatever I wanted all summer and being reimbursed for it.

It’s easy to see how this can escalate – I started by volunteering on a blog, then got paid to blog, then got paid to take photographs, all the while building valuable paragraphs to go on the CV.  Of course, there’s always the problem of driving traffic to fledgling blogs (unless you’re me, and then you just put a link right here – thankedgnat.wordpress.com) but there’s probably a million how-to guides for that all over the web…

Oh, and if you’re keen to follow Ashton; http://twitter.com/APlusK or for some reason, me, http://twitter.com/stu_bradley

Responses

  1. Wow, that’s brilliant – well done and good blagging Stu!


Leave a Reply

Categories

