Posted by: lucy. | January 25, 2011

Direction needed!

So I start writing this after I have just left the lovely Careers Service at Kings Gate and (with absolutely no disrespect to them or their abilities (!)) I can honestly say I am more confused than ever. Having wandered back home, I think I’ve figured out the problem; no one can tell you what you want out of life if you don’t know yourself (or not as my case suggests).

 The easiest thing to figure out is what you want out of a prospective job or out of the next few years. For me I want to still be living in Newcastle, I want to meet new people and I want a lovely work/life balance. Oh, and I wouldn’t say no to £50,000 a year. Hmm, and I thought I didn’t know what I wanted…

 It doesn’t matter how many possible careers you consider or how many people’s advice you seek, it only takes one thought to lead to that light bulb moment. You know the moment I mean, right? The one which you imagine would be combined with a little inspirational music and spurt of energy to help you on your way to live your (finally realised) dreams.

 Sadly many of us are currently lacking that particular moment (and cheesy music). So how do you succeed in having your very own light bulb moment? Well I’m afraid I can’t help you there. I guess you should just… talk to some more people? Consider some more careers…? But seriously, there is a lot of information out there, especially on the Careers Service website. So get looking!

 But remember, your only a student (usually) once in your life. Enjoy these years; I need to go now, I’ve got a date with the delightful Colin Firth *cough* The King’s Speech at the cinema *cough*…  I suppose that light bulb moment could just wait one more day.

Responses

  1. A challenge, and a solution:

    Hi Lucy,

    I graduated Newcastle Uni myself in 2007 and it wasn’t until three years later that I finally figured out what I wanted to do with my career…run my own consultancy company! And so, last year I launched http://www.gradvert.com and started helping other students and graduates figure out exactly what they wanted and how to go about getting it ahead of the competition.

    So, here is my challenge: take six Gradvert coaching sessions at no cost and see how quickly you’re able to realise your ambitions.

    You can find more information about the coaching on this page (http://www.gradvert.com/Gradboltons.html) of my web site but please don’t hesitate to contact me to discuss.

    Whatever you decide, good luck!

    Lisa


Leave a Reply

Categories

