Posted by: katherinejackman | February 15, 2011

Ink Stained Fingers And A Mad Look In Ones Eye

Graduation approaches, day by day, and I’m still not entirely sure what I want to do when I enter the real world.

Actually, that’s not strictly true. I know exactly what I want to do: I want to write. But that’s the problem. I want to write, and so does everyone else. That’s a lot of competition to go up against, especially in a job market that’s as disastrous as this one. Last year I applied for a free quarterly newspaper (unpaid, naturally), but after an initial response from the editor, in which she asked me to send her some samples, I never heard anything back. I emailed her three or four times requesting some kind of response, but still nothing. Nada. Zip. It struck me as being really very unprofessional, but what can you do? At least I tried.

 
 

Ink stained fingers and a mad look in ones eye for a single decent sentence

 

 The only thing I can do for now is keep at it. I’ve been writing for The Courier for two years now. I started out pretty well, securing a weekly column in which I covered a variety of alternative subjects. My theory on this is that The Courier’s a good student newspaper, but it often neglects some of the different aspects of student life. I wanted to shed life on the rock and metal scene in Newcastle, what it’s like to be different, how to deal with social prejudices and such. Now, I write for the Film Section. Writing is my passion, so I’m not afraid to cover things that aren’t necessarily ‘me’. Since I started writing for Film, I’ve written two opinion pieces on subjects I’m passionate about, as well as two ‘Top 5’ lists, a preview and two movie reviews. Hopefully I can keep this up for the rest of the year whilst tackling two 4000 word essays as well as a dissertation.

Wow…hold me back. Seriously.

Unfortunately though, there aren’t really any jobs outside of academia that consists of writing essays for a big fat wage. So, I have to keep going with all the extra scribbling, even if it kills me. Which, to be fair, it very well might. Either way, I guess that by embracing variety, I’m acquiring several new skills within the huge scope that is writing. Hopefully, this will help me when I enter the job market next year.

 One more thing: If you’re really serious about writing as a career, then be prepared to do it for free. The Courier doesn’t pay, and this blog doesn’t pay either. Sad face. Actually, make that happpy face, because the fact is, it all looks good on the CV, and it proves your commitment. I mean, you’re doing what you love, right? That’s the reason I keep putting my pen to paper and my fingers to keyboards. That’s why I burn through so much paper every year. If you really love something, then you’ll want to keep doing it no matter how much it seems to want to screw you over at times.

And I’m anticipating that in the coming months, it will. A lot.

Leave a Reply

Categories

