Posted by: Michael Russell | March 10, 2011

Fair Play!

The Busyness of a Jobs Fair

Recently I attended the Spring Jobs Fair at Newcastle University and found it to be a really useful experience. I went along clutching my CV’s in anticipation of finding an organisation keen to take on a load of students and I wasn’t disappointed.

Jobs fairs are a great way of discovering who is employing in the region and for making yourself known to the various organisations. Don’t just hand over your CV; have a chat. Don’t be afraid to go on your own if your friends are busy because most of you would agree that we prefer going to these events with friends.

I met a number of employers including Barclays Bank who are employing in their call centres in Sunderland, I had a chat and the guy I met explained the role, he asked about me, my experiences (I even mentioned this blog) and I gave him my details and a CV and within 24 hours they emailed me and now I have a full application in progress. Yes that fast! This role is part-time and ideal for combining with University and many of the organisations at the fair offered flexible hours for students.

I also discovered the National Trust were there and many other charities and voluntary organisations. If you have the time and money then take up these opportunities. I spoke to the guy from the National Trust and they said if I was to volunteer then I’ll be able to do activities that fit the experiences I need. This guy from the National Trust started as a volunteer and now works for them! The chat with National Trust staff renewed my faith in volunteering; just a little.

So if you want a part-time job to combine with University; to make yourself known to potential future employers or to volunteer then attend the job fairs.

A quick personal update!

I have an interview at Beamish coming up for a seasonal role next week! Clearly putting this blog on my CV and on applications is having a positive effect.

Responses

  1. Great News, I got the call!! which means i got the job at Beamish, I kept faith in my interview technique and kept going and its all paid off. Remember don’t give up!!

  2. Hi Michael. Just catching up with comments on the blog. Great news about the Beamish job – congratulations! Persistence and a positive attitude can be hugely important to successful job hunting, especially in competitive sectors, as you’ve proved. Looking forward to hearing about your work at Beamish in a future post!

  3. Thanks Nadia, next blog coming up in the next few days!!!

  4. Wonderful blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get opinions from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Kudos!

    • The best thing I can reccommend is to contact the Newcastle University Careers serive, they provide lots of services and may have a user discussion forum. They are really helpful people.


Leave a Reply

Categories

