Posted by: April | July 15, 2011

Graduation Goggles

Anyone familiar with ‘How I met your Mother’ will be familiar with the concept of ‘graduation goggles’.  The concept is simple, when graduation comes around all you remember are the rose tinted memories: good nights out, sleeping off hangovers, getting good marks and making amazing friends.  The not so good memories are forgotten: arguments over heating, disappointing grades and all night revision sessions seem like someone else’s Uni experience, not yours.  When you’re choosing your graduation dress and preparing for the day it all seems like it was totally worth it, but is this really the case? 

My results were posted in a way which was so typical of my course that any Psychology student could have predicted it: two days late, at 12pm, and online!  The result of this was every Psychology student I had met in the last three years, on Facebook anxiously refreshing internet pages from 11.45 onwards.  I came out with a 2:1 which I was more than happy with, and I did it without losing my social life which is proof more than ever that a balance is important in exam times, a point which I’ve tried to emphasise in previous posts.

In truth … It was worth it.  There is something to be said for that little moment when you can write ‘Newcastle University BSc’ next to your name.  I was happy with my grade because it was the mark I had worked towards, but everyone works towards something different.  Yes it can be hard to see the wood for the trees sometimes, or the diploma for the dissertation as it were, but at the end of it all when you walk up to the podium with your graduation goggles on you won’t remember the harder times anyway, but your grade is something that will stick.  Bare this in mind for your next cramming session the night before an exam when you’re hopped up on pro-plus surfing Facebook for a distraction.

As this is likely to be my last post I wanted to say that it’s been nice sharing my little rants with you all and I hope, at least some of the time, you knew where I was coming from!

Thanks!

nil carborundum illegitemi
April
xXx

Responses

  1. Nice post – really enjoyed it 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

