Posted by: elizaadeolu | August 11, 2011

Girl. Thinking. At Crossroads. Of life.

Hi all,

I am that girl! And, I reckon many of you reading this are that … well, not that girl literally, but that boy or that man or woman … oh, I give up, I’m sure you know what I mean. ‘What next?’ That’s the big question. For me, I am

Which way? What next?

finishing my master’s programme next month, and that’s definitely the big question on my mind as I stand at the crossroads of life. Unfortunately, I have nothing figured out. That means all the roads have road blocks.  There are so many options, so many my head aches just thinking about them, yet I have tried many of these and the results have been discouraging.  If  it were only up to me, I would be learning the ropes at a publishing firm by now and shaking hands with a publisher on a book deal; or at least working at a publishing firm and shaking hands with a publisher on a book deal. Did I just repeat myself?  Oh well…

If there is only one thing my year at Newcastle has taught me, it is the fact that I can make big plans and try my damnedest to make them work, but that doesn’t mean these plans have to materialise as I hoped. So, here I am standing at the crossroads, with all the roads blocked, wondering what is next for me.

For now, I don’t know what lies ahead. But one thing is for sure, I am not sitting or standing still and over thinking. I am exploring all my options, whether they be part of my original plan or not. Even though I haven’t had much success in the past, I am not giving up.  Who says I can’t very well set my miraculously duplicated feet in the mouth of all the roads and see which road block gets lifted?

The same goes for everyone else. Finishing your degree or starting another academic session and still seeing yourself in the middle of nowhere near your original plan is no guarantee that you are lost and should give up. Keep pushing until something happens. You can take time out to think about what next, but explore your options; and if things don’t work out, you can always move in with your parents … just joking, but you know what I mean. At least you will know you tried your best.

Leave a Reply

Categories

