Posted by: hannahefriend | October 10, 2011

Becoming more employable Part One: When opportunity comes knocking…

As I mentioned in my blogger’s profile, I ended my second year at university with an almost empty CV. In short, it would have looked like this:

My CV June 2011It simply would not land me a graduate job in a year’s time. No way. No how.
From this panic-stricken moment onwards my goal, aside from getting a degree, was to become more employable. And so the theme of most of my blog posts will focus on things I did, and things you can do, to make yourself more employable by the time you finish university. So I’m making my first post about taking every opportunity. This might seem like old news but there is a reason people are always banging on about it.

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work ~ Thomas Edison

And here’s a great and extremely easy place to start: your university email.

If you’re not someone who persistently deletes emails, I am almost positive there will be something in your inbox which you could do to enhance your CV and learn essential skills employers are searching for. So give it a second thought next time your cursor is hovering over the delete button for the ‘student opportunity – volunteers wanted’ email. This is the last time opportunities are literally going to land in your inbox with no input from you.

This is exactly what I did, and bagged myself a placement on the editorial team of a fashion website and magazine (starting soon so more about this to come!). These opportunities are also a great way to get connections, get networking and have something interesting to talk about in interviews!

Leave a Reply

Categories

