Posted by: brionybragg | March 12, 2012

The future looks bright

Following on from my last post, “Can someone please make my mind up for me please?,” where I was having what can only be described as a career-related emotional breakdown, I am pleased to report fantastic news. I have secured two, yes that’s right not only one, but two vacation schemes in London in easter and summer.

Don’t ask me how I did it, because I can’t tell you. Maybe the firms can just sense I’m a little bit older and wiser. Maybe I am a little bit more commercially aware. Or maybe I just now know all the tricks of the trade having had about eight final round interviews (actually speak in the negotiation exercises, put in sufficient detail in test answers, don’t make stupid mistakes in your interview about the firm) etc. etc. But I definitely feel like I’m getting somewhere having beaten off around 800 people each time to get in this position. Definitely, and it has really given me the confidence to think I could be successful this year. I’ll update in a few weeks with an update of my time in London in April (fingers crossed!)

Hopefully I’ll come back with news that in the future,  I will look like her!

Responses

  1. Well done Briony – an excellent outcome! It’s great to hear your persistence has paid off. The old adage ‘If at first you don’t succeed…’ is especially true in competitive sectors such as law. While it might sometimes feel tempting to give up, your previous interview experiences helped you to avoid common mistakes and work out exactly what recruiters are looking for.

    I hope your upcoming vacation scheme is a great experience. Look forward to hearing all about it in a future post!


Leave a Reply

Categories

