Posted by: jessnorbury | February 13, 2013

What am I going to do with my life?!

I found myself returning to Newcastle at the start of my third year no wiser about my prospects, and as the majority of my friends graduate in 2013, I was at the onset of a year filled with career talk.

We’re all too familiar with the dreaded question;

“So what do you want to do after University?”

and equally familiar with the mental blank/sheer panic with which we respond.

I reacted to the pressure by going into panic mode (NOT RECOMMENDED). I study fine art and all I knew was; I don’t want to be an artist, a curator or a teacher. But what else am I going to do with this degree?!?!

If you are in a similar situation, ask yourself:

“What do I want to get out of a career?”

Break it down simply and think about:

  1. What skills do I have and what am I interested in?
  2. How important is the pay cheque? 
  3. What kind of hours am I willing to work?
  4. Where do I want to work? (Specific city/county/outside UK?) Am I flexible to travel?

Apply your talents! If you have experience working with people think about a client facing job.

Leadership skills? How about a managerial role?

Consider whether this is going to be accessible straight away or if it is something you need to work towards.

I have realised I want to work in a creative and fast paced industry. I want to use my attention to detail, and take on responsibilities and challenges. I realised a 9-5 desk job is not for me, and although I would like to earn an attractive wage, my career satisfaction is more important.

Have a chat with a careers advisor to discuss your options and check out this link to research occupations.

Leave a Reply

Categories

