Posted by: EmmaMountain | February 14, 2013

The Unemployables

GraduateBenKerk

My worst fear: I am morphing into Benjamin from ‘The Graduate’.

My CV resembles a patchwork of totally random endeavors which spell out my worst fear: I have no idea what I’m doing with my life.

I have spent the past four years frantically taking any opportunity that flew my way hoping for an epiphany, and have only recently decided today (yes, today!) what I want to do. Drum rolls please. My dream job would be working in the beauty industry in a PR or marketing role. The bad news: these roles are extremely competitive, and many specifically request a marketing/management degree, which I sadly do not possess as an English Literature and History student.

This is not just the case with beauty related jobs; I’ve found that many marketing and management graduate schemes will not even consider my degree discipline at all. Envious of my smug friends who chose degrees aimed at a specific career field, such as business management or building surveying? Me? Never.

Still, I’m not giving up without a fight. I managed to secure a marketing placement last summer which felt like a total miracle, especially as I spent most of the interview convincing my potential employers I could do a great job despite my lack of experience. Thankfully they gave me a chance and even offered me a full time role at the end of my placement. My next plan of attack was to show a keen interest in beauty to hopefully turn the tide in my favour. I’ve ran a beauty blog for the past few years, so I have been trying to make a bit more ‘professional’ to use on my CV.  I also completed a NVQ in Beauty Therapy in my spare time and I’ve loved every minute of it. The next step? To bag myself a beauty internship. Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

Categories

