Posted by: Afronalysis | August 9, 2013

summer job= skills, cash, fun and opportunities

handprints16091

Summer jobs are a good way to utilise your free time and make some money over the holidays. I, however, always look for a summer job that will be fun and will help me develop my skills first and foremost. For the past few weeks, I’ve been working as a play worker for Gateshead Council and volunteering at Leonard Cheshire Disability.

My work as a play worker has helped me develop so many skills. I spent my first two weeks on a new scheme called Creative Kidz. I am so happy that I was placed on that scheme as it was so much fun and allowed me to bring a lot of my own ideas to the table. Being a very creative person, I thoroughly enjoyed planning out 10 days worth of art activities within an amazing team. For me, the best part of this job is working with children ranging in age from 5-14 from a variety of different backgrounds. Helping them to develop their skills and complete projects to take home is the most rewarding experience. I am also pleased that I have had the opportunity to work with a group of children with autism, who use AAC (augmentative and alternative communication) and have a variety of sensory needs. This has allowed me to apply knowledge that I have gained from lectures in a practical setting.

In the past, I have voluntarily done play work and so it is a bonus that this time I am being paid. But for me the best bonus, which came to my great surprise, was when one of the area managers offered me a great opportunity. She and one of the centre managers has offered me the opportunity to co-ordinate and implement a new music and movement scheme for parents and toddlers. This opportunity will give me the chance to get some invaluable experience working in a children’s setting- perfect preparation for my future career. It will allow me to utilise skills that I have developed at uni, on placement and at work. And I can’t wait to get stuck in!

My voluntary work is also very rewarding- giving two hours of my week to provide some company and assistance to someone who needs it. I spend this time between two service users, both with neurological difficulties that affect their movement and speech. I enjoy getting to know them as individuals and assisting them in carrying out their hobbies and exploring our shared interest in poetry.

So far, I feel that I have gained a lot from this summer and the remaining weeks can only get better.

Responses

  1. Glad you are enjoying your summer job – it really sounds like you are making the most of it. Don’t forget if you need some help ‘marketing’ this experience on your CV just pop in and see us at the Careers Service!


Leave a Reply

Categories

