Posted by: sophiaberry1993 | January 27, 2015

Job applications and University: A fine balancing act…

When I began third year, I suddenly realised I needed to start thinking about my future career, considering my options, and actually start doing something about life after my ever-looming graduation date.

It took me a while, but I eventually saw something I was really interested in: an engagement and communications graduate scheme with The Wellcome Trust. I decided to start the application process, and with the deadline of December 2nd being a month away, I had loads of time (or so I thought).

Embed from Getty Images

Now that I had actually found something I was going to apply for, I was less worried about my future career, and instead I focused on my degree. But towards the end of November, coursework deadlines started cropping up left right and centre; all too soon it was December and, you guessed it, I hadn’t applied for that job.

Another day rolled by, and although I tried, it was too little too late: I did not finish my application. I was annoyed at myself that I hadn’t managed my time effectively, because I had missed a great opportunity.

Getting the balance between job seeking and University work is a tough one and I learnt this the hard way. I now have a calendar I keep on my desk with all my important dates on, so hopefully a deadline won’t creep up on me like last time!

I’ve learnt that it’s important to keep on top of things, but it’s also not the end of the world if you slip up. If you miss an application, don’t stress – graduate schemes come around every year, and there will always be new opportunities on the horizon!

Leave a Reply

Categories

