Posted by: Fiona Miller | October 18, 2015

Placement or Internship……

Two weeks into uni and it feels like the calm before the storm. The storm being an extremely large amount of coursework, seminar readings, and a dissertation proposal

Having worked as a marketing intern for 10 weeks over the summer for a well-known Spanish bank I thought that I would love having nothing to do and waking up at mid day, however this could not be more un-true. My body clock is refusing to change, and waking up at 7:30 in the morning makes the boring day ahead seem even longer.

Despite this one very minor negative (I seem to have entered back into the moaning student mode very well) I would urge everyone to consider a summer internship. Having spent the whole of my 2nd year hearing from lecturers and other students about placement opportunities, interviews, and assessment centres it seemed as though summer internships were forgotten about. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure placement years are amazing however it never really appealed to me and I think I got just as much out of my 10 weeks then I would have within 12 months.

Within my 10 weeks I was made to feel part of the team I was placed in, got to go to social events with other interns, made connections within the marketing and banking industry, and was offered a graduate role within the bank. What I also found was that I loved Marketing Communications, and it made me 100% sure that this was the area of marketing I wanted to work in. Before this I had been unsure as to what area was for me, and if I’d spent 10 weeks realising it wasn’t the area I wanted to pursue then hey, it’s only 10 weeks not an entire year that I was stuck there.

Despite popular belief, the other interns and I were not just there to make cups of tea and photocopy!

Despite popular belief, the other interns and I were not just there to make cups of tea and photocopy!

Basically what I’m trying to say is that in my experience summer internships don’t get as much credit as they deserve so whilst deciding whether to do a placement year or not maybe it’s worth considering an internship as an alternative option….

Leave a Reply

Categories

