Posted by: Fiona Miller | November 17, 2015

I Hate Maths.

So who knew when you were applying for grad jobs that not only did you need a degree relevant to the area that you’re applying for, but also a degree in Maths in order to pass the numerical tests that soooo many companies are now asking candidates to complete.

Simpsons Maths Picture

After spending hours fine tuning responses to questions, (one company asked me what 3 things would they find in my kitchen cupboard – I waffled on about how owning baked beans represented how reliable I was?!) I feel like there is little more depressing then receiving an e-mail asking me to do a numerical test, because I know that no matter how hard I try I probably won’t pass it.

Surely I can’t be the only person who is struggling with these? I hope not, else maybe I’m just not cut out for graduate employment!

Anyway, sorry that this post doesn’t offer much in the way of advice – I’ll let you know as soon as I have discovered the answer! But in the meantime, back to the world of job applications I go, and if any of you have a maths degree and would like to help me out then please let me know.

Just kidding of course……

Responses

  1. Ah – I do sympathise Fiona – I’m not a great fan of maths myself. Always envious of people who just ‘get it’ – seemingly effortlessly . Anyway just to mention that there are lots of ‘fun’ 🙂 example tests on our Psychometric test page http://www.ncl.ac.uk/careers/jobs/applications/tests.php.

    Also the lovely people at Maths Aid (based in the Robinson library) can help students who are struggling with maths, or even those who just need a little refresher – see http://www.ncl.ac.uk/students/mathsaid/

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

